Forum rules - please read before posting.

Integrating ink with Adventure Creator

So there's a CYOA/branching dialogue engine called ink. It's open-source and has Unity integration already. I'd like to use it to augment or replace AC's native, node-based Conversation system, but I've got no clue where to start with writing the integration between the two. I have some C# knowledge, but I'm fairly new to programming overall.

My initial idea was to create a custom ActionList that has two potential actions: "talk" and "cancel". This ActionList would pop up when the player selected an NPC. The "cancel" choice cancels the interaction, hiding the text box with the action choices. The "talk" choice would then somehow call ink's method for running a particular knot, and I would manage which dialogue choices turn up from within the ink file.

Now, I have two problems. One, I'm not entirely sure how to do all that. Two, I'd need to keep game variables consistent between AC and ink and I have no idea how to do that.

Anyone got any advice or ideas? Thanks in advance!

Comments

• All of AC's existing Actions work by calling functions within the rest of the code base, so you can open them up to see how they work.  The scripting guide is also available to assist you.

It sounds like you'll want to call AC's speech functions via another method to the Actions.  Speech is played by using the Dialog script's StartDialog function:

Variables can also be read and manipulated through script - see the Manual and the front page of the scripting guide.

As for the Talk/Cancel choices, you could do this using either AC's existing Conversation system.  Though it's intended for an array of varying options like with most adventures, it's really just a way of listing multiple choices for the player easily, and running more Actions accordingly when one is clicked.  You could incorporate your own custom Actions to run when the player chooses either one.