Forum rules - please read before posting.

Advice for making game with a lot of non-branching dialogue

edited November 2021 in Technical Q&A

Hello,
I'm currently working on a project that is primarily just dialogue between two characters (plus some internal narration). It's linear dialogue with no player choice, but with a lot of dialogue going back and forth between characters.
I am new to Adventure Creator, but from reading up tutorials and looking it up in the manual, it seems you have to use a new "Dialogue: Play Speech" action in the visual scripting interface for every single line of dialogue, which I imagine might lead to a very unwieldy visual scripting window by the time I'm done. The visual scripting layout seems specifically made to easy branching storylines, but in my case, since the text will always come out the same way, I'm wondering if it won't end up slowing me down.
Is there any sort of advice for best practice going about this? I see AC supports Dialogue System, which in turn supports professional scriptwriting software, but my script is in fact quite simple so I don't think I need the bells and whistles of any of those. I can essentially write my entire script in a spreadsheet if need be, so would there be an easy way to perhaps import the script that way?
I am mostly worried about, say, the revision process if every time I want to tweak the dialogue I need to sift through thousands of little visual scripting pop up windows, but maybe I am overcomplicating the process.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• edited December 2021

Welcome to the community, @rainvillain.

The use of AC's visual scripting system is optional. The "Actions" that make up the system chiefly just handle the timing and triggering of other functions within AC itself.