Forum rules - please read before posting.

Original background not showing after running Naninovel custom action

Hello!

I'm pretty new to both Adventure creator and Naninovel but I was able to get them set up pretty quick. The issue I'm having is that when I run a custom action to play a Naninovel script, the background doesn't return to what it originally was before the action ran, when the action is fone. Instead I'm left with a black screen with no background. Just the UI of Adventure creator

What brings the issue:

Hotspot2d ➪ Custom Action ➪ Play Naninovel script named "Mirror" (Turn off Ac: Enabled. Swap camera: Disabled)

"Mirror" Naninovel script:
back Bath
chat Test
Test: Hello world!
turnOnAC
stop

In the Naninovel background configuration, Bath is set to an image called "Bathroom 3"

The same background is also used normally for that area. As in, it's the background that you see in the scene before running the action, if that makes sense.

Naninovel Engine Configurations:
Override Objects Layer: Enabled
Oblects Layer: Naninovel (number 11)
Initialize on Application Load: Disabled
Show Title UI: Disabled

Unity Version: 2021.3.25f1
AC Version: 1.77.3
Naninovel Version: 1.18.2

Comments

• Welcome to the community, @Paesant.

Keep the "Bathroom 3" sprite showing in its Inspector - what happens to it when the issue occurs?

If you can share a video or screenshots that show both the background and the ActionList involved, I can try to spot what's wrong.

It may be a case of Naninovel hiding the assigned background automatically once it completes. Try either removing the "back Bath" property, or duplicating the "Bathroom 3" sprite object and having Naninovel use the copy instead.

• Thanks for the response! @ChrisIceBox

Okay when i played the game with the "Bathroom 3" sprite showing in the inspector, it showed no change when the issue occured.

Here are some screenshots of the background im using and the actionlist editor, along with the naninovel script