Forum rules - please read before posting.

Jumping issue with character in AC

Hi, I recently started using AC to make a 3d adventure game. I am an animator and story artist, but not a programmer and my skills there are quite limited, thus the benefit of using AC. I am somewhat familiar with Unity though, but certain things still stump me. I've been working on my own game in my spare time.

So I am having an issue when the character jumps, his capsule Collider is popping up and then also popping down after the animation is over. Also he sometimes freaks out and jumps continuously, but the issue I can't figure out is why he snaps up. I am unsure if this is a mecanim thing or something I need to tweak in AC?

I created a video on youtube that demonstrates the problem. Hopefully that will help visually explain what I am referring to.   

I'm sure this is a simple fix so thanks to anyone who can help out!

Comments

• Superb animation!

I think this is likely to do with the fact that you're relying on root motion.  Test out the demo game's player prefab, Tin Pot, by using him in your Settings Manager's Player prefab slot - see if the jumping works for you then.

If so, it may be that you need to jump without using AC's jump code, which I think may be fighting Mecanim, since Mecanim's also trying to make the player jump purely through animation.  Let me know the result, and we'll take things from there.
  • Hi Chris, thanks for the compliment and also for commenting back so soon!

I tried TinPot and he worked nice and smoothly jumping and moving around etc. I saw that TInPot was set up as legacy animation type so I wonder if that is a factor? I tried all different variations with my character and still had the issue. I tried another character set up for Mecanim (that I didn't build and rig myself), more human proportions, and with the jump it was even more pronounce for a snapping up and down. Maybe it is a mecanim thing?