Forum rules - please read before posting.

Project Awesome - A 2D Game Experiment.

Hello everyone, I am a complete noob at unity and AC and games to be honest.  I decided to make a game and the end of my art degree because I am insane apparently.  So I just want to make a simple point and click mostly telling a story.  I have taken influences from Thomas was alone, Monument Valley and limbo. I am mostly focusing on the aesthetics though as I am an artist rather than a developer or game designer.  I want to be able to jump up onto shelf sprites so to speak to collect things.  What is the best way to do this? Move the movement method?  I don't wish to be a pain but time is limited so I just ask for a little advice and hopefully I am making sense.

Thanks in advance.  Kayla.

Comments

• It's possible, but if your time is limited and you're not a developer then you may have trouble.  AC "vanilla" doesn't cater for platformers, since it's intended for traditional adventure games.  You could either link your AC Player to a custom motion controller, or remove your AC player and use a separate one that's intended for 2D platforming.

I'd advise the latter, if you don't need the player to do much during Cutscenes (since it's easier to integrate, but won't allow you to move the Player using Actions).  But this topic in general is really only suited to developers, I'm afraid.
  • @LadyAwesome : Sounds like it could be fun! :-)

I think I have the coding skills plus experience working with game art assets you would need for this, so feel free to PM me if you need some outside help for the project.
  • Idiot ville 3.8473298742

So after I accently deleted my whole project, I dont even know how I had to start again.
    Question about 2D sprites, what files do they have to be uploaded as, I am trying to get them into the animator, I only have a left and right, but I cant seem to drop them in.  Thanks.