Forum rules - please read before posting.

Question regarding Sketchbook Pro, Maya, and Blender

I just got a wacom intuos pro tablet along with a Sketchbook Pro yearly subscription. Regarding 2d art is Adventure Creator compatible with art/animations made in Sketchbook Pro? Or would it be best to invest in $9.99 a month for Photoshop?

Also, I'm learning Maya at my university. How would I successfully import a rigged character with it's animations and textures into Adventure Creator? Is there a tutorial for this? And since I'm using a student copy of Maya how compatible are alternatives such as Modo and Blender when importing 3d models?

Finally, as a student I'm on a budget. When is the next sale for AC?  

Comments

• edited January 2017
    I have the same tablet (medium size), and really love it - I use it mainly for 3D sculpting in Blender, plus some texturing work in Substance Painter.

Everything you mention will work fine with Unity, and by extension AC.

Getting a proper asset pipeline together is a big subject, but Unity will handle most formats.There are some "best practice" principles to learn, but it really depends on what you want to create - if you run into problems, there's plenty of wrong or outdated advice available online! :D

If you want to start building a game, I'd say screw Photoshop for now and buy AC instead.
  • Thanks Snebjorn for the quick response. I have the medium size as well and I went w/ Sketchbook Pro since it was on sale for $20 (for a whole year) as opposed to Adobe's $10 per month offering. I'm hoping Sketchbook will serve me well when painting UV maps. 

Also, I know AC is capable of Camera angles and pre-rendered backgrounds, but would it be possible to implement a combat system similar to the classic Resident Evil games (RE1-3 and Remake)? If so how would I incorporate that into AC? Could I possibly merge the control/ shooting mechanics of Survival Shooter into AC? 
  • edited January 2017