Forum rules - please read before posting.

Moving around stopped working

Hi guys, I'm sure this is super simple to resolve! I'm new to Adventure Creator, I've been searching the forums and skipping round the manual, still I'm not sure what to do without doing my scene over again so appreciate a tip!

I have a scene.. All worked well, camera followed the player, navmesh works, tintmaps, looks great. I accidentally deleted my camera and saved over it. Now if I insert a new camera via 'Create' button by 'Default Camera' in the Scene menu... the camera works and follows the player, but when I click anywhere, the player will no longer move around.

This is probably something really simple, a checkbox somewhere I need to recheck, I currently can't work out what! Apologies for the 'newbie' question. Cheers!

Comments

• edited April 2017
    The camera you deleted was the default GameCamera or the MainCamera? The MainCamera can't be replaced by just adding a new GameCamera from the Scene Manager, you need to create a regular Camera, tag it MainCamera and add the AC "MainCamera" script to it. Some screenshots of your hierarchy (showing all your cameras and main camera) would be really helpful here.
  • Welcome to the community, @M1ke.

Indeed - this is likely due to the main camera not being defined as it should be.  AC will rely on the MainCamera for any clicks you make to the scene, so if it's not present or not following your GameCamera correctly, there'll be an issue.

To bring back the MainCamera, click on either of the Organise room objects buttons at the top of the Scene Manager.  That should reconfigure your scene if anything was accidentally removed.

Otherwise, as @Alverik says, screenshots of your hierarchy - and detail of any messages in your Console - will be necessary.