Forum rules - please read before posting.

Simple AI for NPCs

I have some zombie NPCs and I need them to perform a simple routine: patrol, detect player, approach to melee distance, attack.

1) Is there a way to do this with AC ActionLists? Any examples would be welcome, since I'm new to AC.

I haven't managed to find a satisfying way to do this, so I am creating a simple script for this AI. It works ok so far, with one flaw: the zombies don't use the NavMesh I have created via AC, and they bump on static obstacles. So here comes question number 2:

2) How can I make a mecanim NPC move around using ACs NavMesh, via script?

Comments

• 1) I should start with something of a disclaimer that AC is not intended for traditional, non-combat games - so even simple "chase" AC is not easily possible as its outside of AC's intended scope.

It's possible if you use custom code, of course - if your zombies didn't rely on AC's NPC scripts but instead a separate system e.g. Playmaker, then you could definitely add that separately.

As far as doing so within AC, however, you would need to use Variables to keep track of a zombie's state.  A PopUp local variable could have each state as a value: Patrol, Approach, Attack.  I would recommend just working with one zombie, and one variable, until you've gotten it working before moving onto more.

A single "AI brain" ActionList could be created for the zombie that simply checks this variable every X seconds and reacts accordingly: if the variable is Approach, for example, move towards the player with the Character: Move to point Action (moving towards a Marker placed on the Player).

Triggers placed on the zombie could be used to detect line-of-sight and player proximity.  The Trigger prefab is a cube, but can be replaced with any shape by changing the collider component.  When the Player enters a Trigger's boundary, you would then change the variable's value.