Forum rules - please read before posting.

Anima2D character in a 2D game (positioned in screen space) How does it work?

After trying to solve it on my own for a full day and failing, I need help! (I'm a newbie)

What is the correct method of using an Anima2D character in Adventure Creator?

I'm trying to make a scene/ game purely in 2D (with "I'll position my characters in 3D space" selected, which I think = screen space option in moving and turning) I'm using Direct method for movement

Question 1: What is the main advantage of positioning in 3D space? I'm trying to create a game that looks like Night in the Woods, with only left and right movements, and I feel this would give a better look (but I'm not sure why)
I plan to have dynamic lighting (probably with the 2DDL asset) If there isn't much of a difference, then I might as well stick with the Unity 2D option for Moving and turning, and avoid a lot of confusion that screenspace brings (such as needing navmesh instead of navmesh 2D)

I have created a character and rigged and animated it in Anima2D, and then turned it into a prefab. I then brought it into my 2D with screenspace scene, and tagged it as player (layer ignore raycast, including components such as animator, rigidbody, capsule collider and player) I've given it an animation engine of Sprites Unity Complex. 

Question 2: For an Anima2D character that is to be used purely in 2D, am I supposed to set it as a Sprites unity complex? Am I supposed to give it 3D components instead of 2D components? (I would like to avoid 3D if it isn't necessary for what I want - a purely 2D game)

I followed the text tutorial on the AC website for Making a Mechanim based character, including the part with the parameters and transitions. Is this necessary for an Anima2D character? After this, the character moves very slowly, starts walking much after pressing a direction key, and begins to run randomly (not depending on pressing the shift key)