Forum rules - please read before posting.

How to modify the Default Inventory Box behaviour

I've got a question about modifying the Default Inventory Box of the Inventory Menu. I've got 7 slots and each slot has a unique inventory item. When I tap an item in a slot, the bottom of the screen displays the currently selected item with a long text description. The user can tap the buttons "Use selected" or "Cancel" to resume game play. 

When I select and item I must tap the slot of the selected item again, to deselect it, before choosing a different item. I'd like to have AC automatically deselect the selected item when I choose a different item instead. I've got limited knowledge of C# but I might be able to create a custom script with a bit of help. I've posted a screen shot to help clarify. 

Any suggestions on how to achieve this?

Comments

• As the behaviour is very specific to your own needs, it'll certainly take some C# custom scripting.  Fortunately, AC provides some useful tools to help.

First of all, you can define Inventory item properties, which are essentially Variables that each item has its own value for.  Creating a "String" property would therefore allow you to store your "long description" text.  Properties can only be accessed through scripting, but the "Inventory properties" chapter of the Manual explains how.

So that you can more easily manipulate the contents of your Menu, you'll want to switch over to Unity UI.  A tutorial on converting the AC-based Inventory Menu to Unity UI can be found here.

In order for clicking an item at the top to result in the bottom changing, you'll need to define a "Use interaction" for each item - since this override the default behaviour of an item becoming "selected" in the normal AC terminology (what I'm guessing your "Use selected" button is for).