Forum rules - please read before posting.

Depth of Field & Cinemachine

Hello!

I'm somewhat new to AC and have been setting up a game where I'd like to integrate Cinemachine and use the latest Post processing stack. I set up a custom camera with the CM brain and everything seemed fine.

My main camera has a DOF setting that I wanted to alter on my Virtual Cameras.  I was attempting to use the PP script that passes the depth to the main camera on the Wikia but it's yielding errors about the Post Processing namespace.

A Google search yielded a discussion about namespace issues with v2.0 of the Post processing stack and it was suggested to move any scripts referencing the PP to the folders it resides in. However, with Unity 2018.2 and the package management system, I can no longer alter anything within the package folders it seems.

Any suggestions would be appreciated!

(I'm using Unity 2018.2.0f and the latest package additions of Cinemachine and Post Processing through the package manager.)

Comments

• Welcome to the community, @FancyFerret.

When you mention your main camera with the DOF setting, what exactly are you referring to?  The AC MainCamera?  The CM Brain?  There's a couple of approaches you can take to integrating CM with AC - what's your setup, exactly?

I'm not totally clear if this issue relates to AC - if there's an issue with PP then it'll be for the Unity resources / Unity forums to get help from.

What's the link for the discussion you're referring to?

So far as AC's camera system goes, each GameCamera has their own DOF setting which is passed to the AC MainCamera when made active.  The MainCamera's DOF can then be retrieved through script with:

AC.KickStarter.mainCamera.GetFocalDistance ();

If you're relying on CM cameras instead, however, then that likely won't apply.
  • I have a global Post Processing volume (v2) that is set for my Main AC camera as below: