Forum rules - please read before posting.

NPC Follow

This may be a stupid question, but I am struggling to find documentation on it. Maybe I overlooked something, but I can't find any way to turn an NPC into a follower of the player.

Is there a component for it?

Comments

• edited December 2018

Welcome to the community, @DeadDev.

No additional components are necessary - this can be done with the Character: NPC follow Action. More details can be found in the Manual's "Standard Actions" chapter.

• Thanks for the welcome!

I'm not very experienced with AC. I moved my project to AC because it handled navmesh navigation, among many more benefits.

I know you said no additional components were necessary, but I couldn't find any actionsLists that could trigger when the MC moved.

I added an action list to my player character and set up the NPC follow action. But I've found two problems.

The action will not play unless I activate it manually from the actionList component.
    The second is that the NPC sprites will not activate when moving.

Am I going about this the wrong way, or is there something more I need to do before the sprites will activate?

Thanks!

• The action will not play unless I activate it manually from the actionList component.

When would you like it to play? If it should run when the scene begins, you can place the Action in your OnStart Cutscene, which you can assign in your Scene Manager. ActionLists generally shouldn't go on the Player, since object references will be lost when the Player changes scene.

The second is that the NPC sprites will not activate when moving.