Forum rules - please read before posting.

Listing objective states

Hey there,

I'm just getting started with the Objectives feature, and I have a question.

The Objectives UI seems set up now to be a bit like a quest log in a game like Skyrim, where there is a list of quests and you can click them for more information. What I'm hoping to build is more like an objectives overlay from a game like The Witcher 3 or Deus Ex, where active objectives are shown on the screen at all times with a list of their sub states visible, and this list can expand or shrink dynamically when objectives are revealed or completed/failed. It seems the InventoryBox menu element is currently only setup to reveal one state at a time on click - is there a way to show them all in labels, like this?

Quest 1

• Objective 1
  • Objective 2 completed
  • Objective 3

Quest 2

• Objective 1 completed
  • Objective 2 failed

Comments

• The level of customisation to get e.g. strikethroughs through completed objectives etc would be too granular for them to be offered in a simple Label element's properties, but all the data can be accessed through AC's API for you to use in i.e. a custom Unity UI canvas.

You can get all the current Objectives with:

KickStarter.runtimeObjectives.GetObjectives ();

See the Scripting Guide entry for more options and details, though I appreciate this is something of a rabbit hole.

On categorising multiple "Objectives" into "Quests" - this could feasibly be done at the same time, whereby a Quest is just another Objective, that's hard coded to be dependent on other Objectives, referenced by their ID values. The RuntimeObjectives class also has functions to get / set Objective states.

However, I shall look into this further to see if I can provide something more specific - even if it's in the form of an example script. Please leave with me for the moment.

• OK, try this:

https://adventure-creator.fandom.com/wiki/Quest_Objectives_and_sub-Objectives