Forum rules - please read before posting.

How do I make a clickable button while speech text is on the screen?

Hi! I'm new with this asset and Im wondering how the hell do I make the button to open the inventory clickable during a speech? Whenever the character is speaking I want to click the inventory to show "evidence" to contradict what the character is saying, but when I click anything on the screen it just skips the speech text until it ends. I hope you can help me!

Comments

• Welcome to the community, @Panchoman77.

Speech text will be skipped with input if you have Subtitles can be skipped? checked in the Speech Manager. The input it responds to will be a mouse click if you then, also, have Can skip with mouse clicks? checked.

If this is unchecked, then speech will only be skipped when an input button named "SkipSpeech" is pressed.

When you trigger an ActionList to display speech, that ActionList's default behaviour is to block gameplay - placing the game in "Cutscene" mode, and thus prevent regular interactivity.

To prevent this - and allow for regular gameplay while the ActionList runs - set its When running property to Run In Background. This field can be found at the top of its Inspector.

Though, you may want to limit the player's ability to move or interact with Hotspots during this time. The Engine: Manage systems Action can be used to disable the Movement and Interaction systems. A pair of these Actions (one at the start to disable them, one at the end to re-enable them) should allow you to limit what the Player can do during this time.

It's also worth mentioning that Menus themselves can be made clickable during cutscenes - though this option is limited to Menus that have an Appear type of When Speech Plays, Manual, and During Cutscene. Also, InventoryBox elements are not interactive during cutscenes regardless of this option.