Forum rules - please read before posting.

Hullo!

edited June 2015 in Adventure talk
Hi all. Dave Gilbert here. I run Wadjet Eye Games, and for almost a decade we've been making and publishing games made in AGS. You might know us from Blackwell, Gemini Rue, Primordia, Resonance, and the recent Technobabylon. We also published Chris Burton's game "Da New Guys 2!" 

AGS is great, but it rapidly showing its age and I don't think it's going to be viable for much longer. So I've recently made the leap to Unity and to AC.

I am VERY new to this engine and it's all strange and scary to me. So you'll be sure to see lots of questions from me and laugh about what at newb I am. Nice to meet you all!

-Dave

Comments

• Hi man, really a fan of blackwell and also the effort you guys make to keep adventure games alive.

Great to have you here.
  • Welcome to the community, @DaveGilbert!

Having come from AGS as well, it took a few attempts to find out the best way to make an adventure game engine in Unity.  My first attempt tried to emulate AGS' workflow 1:1, but it was quickly apparent that Unity has a very specific way it likes to do things, and trouble brews if you try to do anything different.  So while I've had AGS in mind when building AC, some of it's features have had to deviate by necessity.  I recently answered some questions from another AGS user, which you may find useful here.

I don't know if you're going to continue your low-res style with AC (looking forward to finding out, though!), but you might be interested in seeing what @Humaldo, another AGS-convert, is doing with it, as he may have some useful tips to share.
  • Hey! :)

Sadly, things like Apple enforcing 64bits runtimes for the app store and the support of newer and greater hardware took AGS away from the game.