Forum rules - please read before posting.

Steam Achievements with AC

Hi, I'm working on getting my game ready for Steam and was wondering if anyone has successfully gotten Steam Achievements to work with their AC game?

I currently have in-game achievements which I use global variables to unlock. I set the variable to "true" when the player gets the achievement. Then when they open the Achievements menu, I check if the var is true or false to turn on/off menu elements. 

I'm using Steamworks.NET, have the game running on Steam and have the Achievement Configuration all set up in Steamworks. 

I'm not a programmer, so I'm struggling a bit with the achievements part. If anyone would be willing to share their custom script for using Steam Achievements with AC, that would be amazing. I'd be happy to give you a shout out in the credits of my game. 

Comments

• I'm curious about this too.

• So, I think all that's needed (at least for simple unlock achievements) is to run this bit of code:

using Steamworks;
    #if (SteamManager.Initialized) {
    SteamUserStats.SetAchievement("ACH_ID");
    SteamUserStats.StoreStats();}

But I'm not sure how to use AC to do that. 
  • edited November 2016
    ummmm! You could create a custom action, just have a variable for the string AchievementID, then run the code inside the Run() method. you probably want to avoid running the code if the AchievementID is string.Empty and maybe have a try catch in case the AchievementID is incorrect. If I have the time I'll make it myself, but I'm kinda swamped in an AC - VRTK integration right now. I'll probably need to explore steamworks myself, but I don't have the time to read the api right now, if you can post more actions we could try to work them out into AC actions for easier use.
  • edited November 2016
    Ok, try this AC custom action. The code is untested though, cause I don't have the steamworks plugin yet. Let me know if there are any errors.