Forum rules - please read before posting.

A hybrid interaction method

Hi!

I'm studying Adventure Creator, looks like it's a really powerful tool! But I've got some questions.

I'm developing a 2D point'n'click adventure game and I need some kind of a hybrid interaction method. My interactions are: use (by default), bite, smell, hear, etc. I like the Context Sensitive (CS) interaction method, it provides almost all I need, but I'd like to be able to choose some additional interactions: cursors of mouth, nose, ear.

1) Can I choose these interaction cursors in the CS interaction mode? I've created a menu with these cursors and I can choose them in Choose Interaction then Hotspot (CITH) mode with no problem, but not in the CS mode.
2) Can I make "use" cursor as default in the CITH mode? So player won't choose it specially all the time, but this cursor will be chosen automatically when a hotspot is highlighted if no special interaction were chosen, like in CS mode?
3) How can I make deselecting current interaction cursor or resetting it to default by right click (like the inventory option "Deselects Item") in CITH mode?
4) How can I move player with an interaction cursor (like the inventory option "Can move player if an Item is active") in CITH mode?

Questions 1-2 are really important to me, 3-4 are of lesser importance.

I've read the 12.12 chapter of the manual and looked through the Custom Interaction System Example script, but maybe there is another way? Maybe I shouldn't code a whole interaction system from scratch, but can modify one of the existing methods or just toggle some checks? Maybe there are some useful code examples or forum topics? Could you please point me in the right direction?

Thanks!

Comments

• edited July 2017
    Welcome to the community, @Neurosaur.