Forum rules - please read before posting.

Problems linking custom pixel perfect UI

Hi everyone!

I'm making a pixel art game, and I recently managed to make it pixel perfect with the PixelPerfect2D camera. The problem is that I want to make a camera-rendered UI so that it is pixel perfect as well, but when I link it to adventure creator (following this tutorial https://adventurecreator.org/tutorials/creating-inventory-bar-unity-ui) it does not work as expected:
Basically, it sends my UI elements far away from the camera viewport and messes up their interactability whenever I manage to get them on screen. The idea is to make a pop-up menu like the one in MI3, but making it stay true to the pixel size of the elements in the worldspace.
Please mind I'm pretty new to AC and Unity, so if you know any solution through scripting I'm all for it as long as I can understand it.

Thank you!

Comments

• Welcome to the community, @mad_lemon.

As you're using a separate asset to render the camera, I'm not sure where the source of your issue lies. Sharing full-screen screenshots of your project to illustrate the issue will help a lot to understand the problem better.

You can set your Canvas's Render mode to Screen Space - Camera to have it render in camera space. However, there is currently an issue with this option when the Canvas also has a Canvas Scaler component. A fix for this issue is set to be included in AC's upcoming v1.66 update, which will be out soon in the new year.

• Hi Chris, and thanks for the fast response!

As you said, I am already using the Screen Space - Camera render mode, but I'm also using a Canvas Scaler so that might be at least one of the causes.
    May I ask what screenshots would be more useful to help understand the problem (i.e. the AC menu editor, the UI prefab...)? Just so I don't spam everyone with loads of unnecessary captures.

Thank you again, both for your help and for developing AC. It really is a wonderful tool. And have a great year!