Forum rules - please read before posting.

Custom character animation trigger

Not sure if this is the correct place.

I'm fairly new to AC and it's working out great so far. I'm working entirely in 2d right now and I have a character walking around a navmesh and it's working great. What I need to do now is play a certain character animation in a certain area. In this case there's a very narrow part of the navmesh that is the stairs. I need to trigger the character to play a certain animation while he walks down the stairs area and another as he walks up. Not quite sure how I can accomplish this.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

Comments

• Basically you create the animation you want as a new clip which is then included in the player's animation controller just like all the other standard walk anims.

Then you can call a custom animation in a cut scene or any action list whenever you choose.

To call those animations you need to trigger it somehow but a clickable hotspot to say 'go upstairs' would be enough. This is very similar to the 2D demo exits left and right. 
    Another way is to have a trigger placed in the way of a player's path into a section of the navmesh which otherwise would let the player walk INTO the stair sprite. The player's navigation will make it walk to where the player has clicked but before they can get past the trigger you've placed it will trigger your custom anim.

If you have a general grasp of AC's systems and Unity's animation tools then you should understand all of this but if there's anything you aren't sure of just ask again.