Forum rules - please read before posting.

Play sound effect when a character talks

So I want to play a certain sound effect ONCE, every time a character starts talking.
How can I go about implementing this? If this can only be done with coding - can anyone help with the code (as I have no knowledge in coding.. :-( )
Thanks a lot!

Comments

• edited October 2019

This can be done by hooking into the OnStartSpeech custom event.

Sample script:

using UnityEngine;
    using AC;

public class PlayAudioOnSpeech : MonoBehaviour
    {

public AudioClip audioClip;

private void OnEnable ()
        {
            EventManager.OnStartSpeech += StartSpeech;
        }

private void OnDisable ()
        {
            EventManager.OnStartSpeech -= StartSpeech;
        }

private void StartSpeech (AC.Char character, string lineText, int lineID)
        {
            AudioSource.PlayClipAtPoint (audioClip, Camera.main.transform.position);
        }

}

• Thanks!
    Few questions:
    1.This script needs to be on a Game Object in the scene? can it be a component of the character game object prefab?
    2. Do I need to substitute lineText and lineID for something else or can I just leave it as is?
    3. Do I change audioClip with the name of the clip including extension (e.g. cry.mp3)?
    4. Where is the audio clip file needs to be placed (i.e. in what directory)?

Thanks again for all the help...

• This script needs to be on a Game Object in the scene? can it be a component of the character game object prefab?

It needs to be in the scene, but if it's placed on a prefab that's present in the scene at runtime then that'll work also.

Do I need to substitute lineText and lineID for something else or can I just leave it as is?
    Do I change audioClip with the name of the clip including extension (e.g. cry.mp3)?

The script itself can be left alone - at least to achieve what you posted about.

Where is the audio clip file needs to be placed (i.e. in what directory)?