Forum rules - please read before posting.

Customizing the hotspot label syntax for Spanish (or other languages)

Hi Chris and fellow creators!
I finally managed to buy a copy of AC on black friday and I've been binge learning it like a mad man.
I am a linguist and teacher and I am prototyping a very simple educational game in Spanish. I figured that for my purposes, the best option is a clicking menu with all verbs available on click, so that users can read the whole label as a sentence by clicking a hotspot and then hovering over the verbs. Which I managed to do with just a few clicks with AC.

Now, the thing is that there is a specific behaviour in Spanish, in which when your direct object is human (or human-like), it needs the "a" preposition before it.

Look at table - Mirar mesa
Look at Juan - Mirar a Juan

Of course I am simplifying this a lot. You can say "Mirar pasajero" (look at passenger) instead of "Mirar a pasajero". But you can pretty much apply the general rule.

I am mostly a beginner with C#, but I like to get my hands dirty and through trial and error I figured if I could add an isHuman bool in hotspots and then locate where the hotspot label is put together in the scripts, I could add a conditional statement checking for the isHuman property.
I think I pretty much managed to achieve this declaring the isHuman bool in hotspot.cs, then I modified the HotspotEditor so that I can tick the box in the inspector, and then I modified the PlayerMenus so that it checks isHuman before putting together the hotspot label, using the "a" preposition if needed. So far, so good.

Now (finally), my question is: am I doing this correctly by tweaking the AC scripts? I am aware that when I update AC, I would have to modify those three scripts again. As I mentioned I am pretty much a beginner when it comes to C# so perhaps there is a way to change this functionality without editing AC files.

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Welcome to the community, @HauntedPumpkin.