Forum rules - please read before posting.

Timing two animations together

Hello everyone,
I have a question that seems like it would come up often in adventure game creation, but have not seen it answered anywhere. I have an animation that plays continuously on a loop (NPC throwing an object up in the air and catching it), and I want my character to to be able to use a colander to catch it. The issue is that depending on when in the original animation the player uses the item, it doesn't necessarily line up in terms of timing. What I am looking for is a way to tell the program not to initiate my player character's animation until the NPC loop finishes its cycle, so that the timing can be controlled. Does anyone know of a way to do that?

Thanks so much,
Adam

Comments

• edited November 2020

My background is mainly 2d related.
    Don't use on the loop in your case like this.
    Create variable ColanderUse, use actionlist to check for that variable if it is 1 play animation with colander, if not play your old animation and send call back to check varaible.
    Hope this helps.

• I meant: Don't use on the loop in your case like that (like you do).
    :)

• edited November 2020

I guess the solution could be something like the PlayFootstep function called by an Animation Event? Link @ 1:03:17:

• Interesting problem.

Using animation events would be one way to solve it, but it'd be tricky to place the game in "cutscene" mode while the game waits for the animation to reset.

Another way would be to use a custom Action that simply waits for a given Animator to complete it's current cycle of whatever animation state it's currently playing. Try this:

using UnityEngine;
    #if UNITY_EDITOR
    using UnityEditor;
    #endif

namespace AC
    {

[System.Serializable]
        public class ActionAnimWait : Action
        {

public Animator animator;
            public int layer;

public ActionAnimWait ()
            {
                this.isDisplayed = true;