Forum rules - please read before posting.

Unity UI and Object Highlighting Inventory Items After Pickup

Hello,

In my inventory prototype (made using AC only) I used the Object - Highlight - Pulse options in the ActionList Editor to allow a picked up item to auto open the inventory, add it with a little pulsing highlight around it and then auto-close the inventory again. It worked and looked great.

After switching to a Unity UI interface linked to AC I’m unsure how to re-create that. I tried for a while to get it working before searching the forums where I found a thread from 2017 that stated that highlighting inventory items doesn’t work with Unity UI. I was wondering if that was still the case now years later?

Towards the end of the thread there was some talk of a way around this but as I have little scripting experience I am a little unsure if that method is still applicable now and how I would even go about implementing it. I am crossing my fingers maybe there has since been some progress on this issue since then and a simpler fix?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Also I was unsure if it was OK to start a new thread on this topic or if I should have just responded to the one from several years ago? Sorry I’m new to the forum.

Here's a link to the 2017 thread that mentions a similar issue towards the end:

https://adventurecreator.org/forum/discussion/6389/highlight-inventory-item-inside-menus-inventorybox

Comments

• The highlighting effect is still AC-only, since this mode allows AC enough control over the menu system.

With Unity UI, you'd likely do this by attaching an Animator to each inventory slot Button object, which features a Trigger parameter (e.g. "ShowHighlight") that - when invoked - animates the Button (or a child Image) that shows the highlighting effect.