Forum rules - please read before posting.

Applying post processing to AC camera for a newbie.

Hi, I'm new to AC and Unity and trying to make my first game. Can anyone explain to me in very simple terms how to apply this post processing effect I bought off the Unity market to the camera in AC?
I know that you only need to apply the effect to the main camera and the game camera kind of sees through that. I just don't know how to actually do that to begin with. Please walk me through it step by step.

Comments

• Welcome to the community, @Endlessdescent.

On the AC side of things, you're correct that the MainCamera is the one you need to apply the effect to. GameCameras are used merely as positional references for the MainCamera. When you "switch" camera, it's really just the MainCamera moving to that GameCamera's position.

If your effect asset involves attaching a particular component to a camera, then it'll be AC's MainCamera that needs it.

There's no set way to apply the effect, though. Depending on how it works, and which render pipeline you're using, the instructions for applying a post-processing may vary. You'll need to check the documentation included with the effect for details - but you're welcome to share them here.

• edited November 2021

Thank you,

The guide that comes with the effect says:
    "1. Drag and drop the prefab from Lune/RetroRenderer/Prefabs into your scene
    2. Disable any other cameras already in the scene
    3. In the contained Post Process Volume on the prefab, play with the values of VHS Effect and
    Pixelation Effect and you're good to go!
    4. See documentation (https://www.luneinteractive.com/vhs-effects-documentation) for a more in depth guide on each effect and its variables
    Alternatively:
    Add the desired custom Post Process effect to your pre-existing Post Process volumes"

It comes with three .effect and a single .prefab