Forum rules - please read before posting.

Dialogue close ups

Hello,
I'm a total newb in AC and unity. I just bought AC, followed few tutorials and played around a bit enough to understand the basics. I'm set in making a 2d game and I was now trying to do something slightly out of the scope of the tutorials: implementing close-ups for dialogues, something similar to monkey island and pillars of the earth.

Unfortunately I couldn't find much about this in past threads, as "close-up" seems related more to zooming in on items, so pardon me if it's the wrong term and this has been already discussed.

Ideally these close ups would have animated sprites for the characters that change expression between lines, but they wouldn't be the "normal" game sprites and animations but customized ones (so I won't just use a zoomed in camera), and the background wouldn't probably be the same from the scene but a bespoke redraw background.

I've been trying the Gabriel Knight conversations example which uses a new menu item with animatable portraits, but I'm not sure if it's the right tool for what I'm thinking about. For starters, the characters shouldn't have a fixed position (they could be on either side or anywhere in the screen), and the player characters wouldn't necessarily have the same portrait in all conversations, as I could use different angles. Furthermore all elements (characters and background) should naturally overlap to give the impression of an organic shot and not a UI screen.

I'm thinking maybe I should make a new scene with custom animated elements for every conversation and animate them manually from the action list, and cut back and forth from the playing scene and these scenes when the dialogues start. But I have no idea how to make the sprites talk (maybe teleporting the "real" characters behind them?). I don't know if it's "hacky" or if it's going to be an absurd amount of work for something that can be achieved in an easier or more elegant way.