Forum rules - please read before posting.

Tiny fix for AC/Dialogue System integration

I think this is a Dialogue System issue, but I have no experience with AC dialogue options because I replaced it with DS pretty early on, so I could be wrong. The cursor issue happens if you tell Dialogue System to use AC's Dialogue State during conversations.

using System.Collections;
    using System.Collections.Generic;
    using UnityEngine;
    using AC;

// Dialogue System changes the AC Cutscene cursor icon during conversations so that the normal cursor is displayed, and then changes it back once it is done.
    // The issue is that this changes the AC Manager setting, meaning it is NOT only a runtime change. If you quit the game before the conversation is over, it becomes a permanent change.
    // This script is intended to set the correct cursor when the scene starts.

public class RevertCutsceneIcon : MonoBehaviour
    {
        public Texture defaultTexture;

void Start()
        {
            AC.KickStarter.cursorManager.waitIcon.ReplaceTexture(defaultTexture);
        }

}

Comments

• @Rairun "I replaced it with DS pretty early on"

I actually own DS for ages, but never really tried it. I know it's an elaborate asset, but in what ways is it "better" than AC's robust dialogue engine?

• It has a lot more features than the ones I've used, so I can't give you a complete answer, but the reasons I use it are:

(1) I really like the conversation editor and how it handles dialogue options. With AC, as far as I can remember, you have to create a separate conversation object every time the player is presented with dialogue options, and then you can call it in a longer cutscene that contains the rest of the dialogue. With DS, if you connect a dialogue entry to more than one node, DS automatically presents the player with those options: