Forum rules - please read before posting.

How to retain jumping direction when button not held?

I'm pretty new to AC and working my way through the tutorials. I was pleasantly surprised at how good the smooth first-person controller was after I tweaked the values to my liking. There is one thing that irks me however and that is the fact that a direction key must be held to carry directional momentum through a jump. For example, if you let go of the forward key mid-jump, you will stop in the air and fall straight down. This is unusual when compared to how jumping works in most games and it's been tripping me up a bit. Does anyone know the best way to fix this?

Comments

• edited December 2022

Welcome to the community, @spookyrockjaw.

You can have the Player maintain their direction when in mid-air by using a custom script to override the returned input values for the Horizontal and Vertical axes.

Details on how this topic works can be found in the Manual's "Remapping inputs" chapter, but try attaching this script (LockJumpDirection.cs) to your Player character:

using UnityEngine;
    using AC;

public class LockJumpDirection : MonoBehaviour
    {

private float lastGroundedHorizontalValue;
        private float lastGroundedVerticalValue;

private void Start ()
        {
            KickStarter.playerInput.InputGetAxisDelegate = MyGetAxis;
        }

private float MyGetAxis (string axisName)
        {
            try
            {
                float inputValue = Input.GetAxis (axisName);

if (KickStarter.stateHandler.IsInGameplay ())
                {
                    if (axisName == "Horizontal")
                    {
                        if (KickStarter.player.IsGrounded ())
                        {
                            lastGroundedHorizontalValue = inputValue;
                        }
                        else
                        {
                            return lastGroundedHorizontalValue;
                        }