Forum rules - please read before posting.

Stuck in Death Pose with Sprites Unity Complex

I'm pretty new to Sprites Unity Complex, so this might be an easy answer--but I have a scene where my protagonist dies and plays a death animation, which is simply set as a standalone custom animation in the animator controller because I only want it to play once and then hold on the final frame, and not transition back to her idle.

My problem is, after a little scene plays, I load an Autosave that was made automatically following the OnStart cutscene and notice that the player character is still stuck in her death pose on reload. Resetting the scene from End Game fixes the issue, but otherwise she'll remain in her death pose indefinitely.

What would be the best way to set things up so I don't run into this issue?

Thanks!

Comments

• With Sprites Unity Complex, AC won't play animation states automatically - instead only affecting parameters that you set in the character's Inspector.

If you attach the "Remember Animator" component, however, then AC should record both the parameter values, and the active state, of the Animation in save-game files.

See if simply attaching that is enough. If necessary, you could call a Character: Animate Action in your scene's OnLoad cutscene to either invoke a Trigger parameter that transitions you back to the Idle state, or play the Idle state by name directly.

• Thanks for the response, Chris!

It looks like the "Remember Animator" component was already on the character, so that doesn't seem to solve it. I also tried Character>Animate>Play Custom on load to try and kick the character back into her idle state and back into the animation tree, but that didn't work either unfortunately.