Forum rules - please read before posting.

Menu "missed click" issue

So I have a pretty complex combat arrangement that is done using the following steps (greatly simplified):

a) menu showing available attacks (via buttons) appears

b) player chooses desired attack, activates appropriate actionlist

c) enemy randomizes attack type, then animates said attack

d) immediately after, the timescale is reduced to around 0.2 or lower, and a "defense menu" appears

e) player selects defense button from defense menu based on the incoming attack, alternatively player does not select defense and does not try to defend, in which case 0.2 seconds pass (in "lowered timescale time", meaning it's more like 1.5 seconds) and then afterwards the menu disappears and the enemy's attack hits

f) timescale returns to 1 and player animates defense, dodges/blocks attack depending on chosen defense/incoming attack

So this works quite well the way I have it set up with (mostly asset-based) actionlists, however there is one small problem: If the player tries to click on a defense button in e) but "misses" (there is not much time available to select it, so the player needs to pick quickly) then the player can no longer select any defense types, thereby leading to the player not defending and getting hit (usually). 

In other words, if the player clicks once on an area of the menu in which there is no button, the menu buttons no longer become clickable.

The only thing I can think of is that this has to do with the timescale being lowered. Perhaps there can only be so many "clicks" on a menu during each period of time, and this amount is lowered while the timescale is lowered?

Is there any other reason this could be happening? Just to add, all of the actionlists involved during part e) run in background so that the player can click menu buttons.