Forum rules - please read before posting.

Very slow start-up when scene has many objects

Hello,

I am new to Adventure Creator and am hitting an issue with long startup times when using Unity's play in editor feature.

A popular technique for building levels is to construct them from many reusable modular set pieces.  My 3D game scene uses this technique.  These tiles are marked as static.  My current map has around 200 of these geometry prefab instances all parented to an empty named 'Geometry'.  They are untagged and set to layer Ignore Raycast.  These tiles each have their own colliders using Unity's physics system (characters can walk on them).  I have opted for Unity's pathfinding and baked the navmeshes.  I am using Unity 4.6.2f1 and Adventure Creator 1.42c

Here are some benchmarks of time from when I click the play button to when the game is playable (these are approximate since I'm timing using a stopwatch by hand)
World geometry disabled + GameEngine disabled = ~2 seconds
World geometry enabled + GameEngine disabled = ~2 seconds
World geometry disabled + GameEngine enabled = ~2 seconds
World geometry enabled + GameEngine enabled = ~18 seconds

It looks like the AC GameEngine is interacting with the world geometry at start-up, although being new to AC, I'm not sure why it would need to.  As I add more geometry to the world, I imagine this start-up lag will continue increasing.

Can you please advise as to why startup is so slow when many objects are placed and anything I can do to mitigate this issue?

Thanks!

Comments

• edited February 2015
    I noticed this slow too.
    But I think it came with the new version of Unity, not AC.

I'm still using 1.40b from long time (because it has everything I need for now) and I noticed this slow-down after upgrading to U 4.6.2f1.

I don't have 18 sec but 6-7 sec. Before was 2-3 sec.