Forum rules - please read before posting.

grouping hotspots

Hello everyone,

First post here, first of all congratulations to Chris, this looks like a really useful toolkit you have created, cheers!

I started using it yesterday, I'm quite new to this, so if what I'm asking has been answered already, please feel free to redirect me to the relevant post, as a quick search didn't turn up any results. On to the question now:

I'm trying to set up a quick system to turn Hotspots on and off. I've found the Action : "Hotspot: Enable/Disable", however that only works on one hotspot at a time. I figured I'll child all relevant hotspots under an empty GameObject, and change its state accordingly using the SetActive function (I've written a custom Action that takes care of this, works quite good, +1 to Adventure Creator for custom Actions!)

I have a bit of an issue however with the hotspots when I try to group them (put them as children in an empty GameObject). It seems that when I child any hotspot to anything other than the "_Hotspots" object, it stops working (even if the new parent is itself a child in "_Hotspots"). Can't click it at all, it is as if it's not there. If a hotspot is over a navMesh for example, when it's clicked the character will simply walk to that point on the navMesh, disregarding the hotspot completely.

To the double question then:
1. Why do hotspots break down when childed(?) to anything other than their default parent, and any ideas how to solve it?
2. Is there an alternate way to mass enable/disable hotspots? I'd rather not have to set up a new action for each hotspot individually, I'm looking at a dozen hotspots per area, ~10 areas per scene, a dozen scenes, you get the picture..

Thanks,
Kostas

Comments

• edited June 2015

I'm not quite sure if i understand your question correctley. You want to disable/enable multiple hotspots at the same time?