Forum rules - please read before posting.

Best Screen Resolution for 2d background art and scaling

Hi,

I am new to creating digital art and still very much learning. I have seen articles online about different screen resolutions and aspect ratios and scaling problems to higher resolution devices.

I was wondering what the general screen resolution recommendation is to be able to scale to most devices without issue. I would like to be able to support ios, android, web and desktop with the same graphics.

Is there a good resolution for art work that is standard and scales well?

I am an individual looking to make classic 2d adventures probably late 80s to early 90s quality graphics as I am a newbie my skills are limited. My understanding is that larger resolutions like 720p would be too high as the larger resolutions need more work to draw but at the same time 320x200 is too small.

Anyway any tips on what resolution to use for background art would be appreciated. Also if you know of any good background art tutorials that would be appreciated also.

Thanks,

Anthony

Comments

• This isn't so much related to using AC, and you might have better luck getting responses on the official Unity forums instead.  640x480 was the HD of my day, but @humaldo has produced some great "classic" look games, for example.
  • Thanks for the reply, the games by @humaldo looks like the kinda games I want to build and nice to see adventure creator working with them.

Here is some of my plans so far for other newbies that maybe researching what game size to use also.

I have been looking around and decided to design art that works well with modern aspect ratio of 16:9 which works with most modern computers.

I used 400x225 for the background art as it scales up to 720p and 1080p etc and can also do 800x450 for web player which seems like a good size to put within a website.