Forum rules - please read before posting.

how to restrict player movement to X axis in 3D game?

edited April 2018 in Technical Q&A
Hi,
I am new to AC, but  have worked with Unity for some time - and I did watch the tutorial videos and read the manual monster.

I want to create a 2D sprite player that moves in a side scrolling 3D scene.
Which just means: constrict player movement to the X axis, while the camera follows.
However, I just cannot get the player character to move at all!

I am using a 2D (2DTK ) animated sprite for the character, child to a 3D character GO, created by the  "Character Wizard" and set AC to "direct movement / keyboard or controller".

The capsule collider on the player GO works fine with the floor and wall box colliders.
But there are 3 issues:

1. in most cases either the character moves ONLY on the Z axis, and ignores all other input, and then bounces or jitters off the wall collider.

2. or it moves Z and X, but not in straight lines, but along some curved path. meaning, just going +X and then -X offsets the entire character on the Z axis, cos it apparently wants to "curve back"along a bezier path.

3. "jumping" doesn't seem to work at all with this setup.

I have tried every check box option there is to no avail (mostly the whole character either doesn't move at all, or will just move along the Z axis, regardless of input). (Tank controls just freeze the whole character, retro style movement, ignore gravity and "move with rigidbody" "off" seem to partially work).

So my questions are:
How can i just plain disable all Z axis movement?
How can I disable the forced bezier path movement - since my game is more of a classic linear movement thing?
Is there any way of having the character (incl it's collider) being able to jump? or does this need to be faked with sprite animations?

Since I used 2 full days on this to no avail, all help is much appreciated ! :-)

NB: unity 5.6.1, latest version of AC and 2Dtk

Comments