Forum rules - please read before posting.

Puzzle with multiple matching variables

I am trying to find the best solution for a panel puzzle in my game. There are variations of puzzles, but all connected to the same panels in the same room. Here's an illustration:

In one room the goal is to match the two panels. In another the goal is to reverse them. There are many more variations (such as flipping the combination vertically). To change the color of a button you press it. If it's red it turns blue, if it's blue it turns red and so on.

Since I have no coding background my first thought was to have a local variable associated to each button (ie blue = true, red = false) and check if you have the right combination at any variable change... It works, but it's tiresome, especially since I have so many variations of the puzzle. That's 18 local true/false variables!

Any ideas? :-)

Comments

• edited February 2022

Tbh I'd probably just go with 18 local boolean variables myself, but you could also just use two integers? For example, 111111111 could mean that all buttons are blue, and 0 would mean that all buttons are red. Then each digit could represent one button: if you want button #1 to change state, you can subtract or add 1; if you want button #2 change state, you can subtract or add 10; if you want button #3 to change state, you can subtract or add 100; and so on. Then you just need to check if both string variables are the same. The downside here is that unless you are careful, you might end up introducing bugs by adding 10 when the the second to last digit is already 1, etc, which would break the system.

Imho, it's safer to create one actionlist comparing a set of 9 bools to the other set of 9 bools and call it a day.

• Condensing the combined states of the buttons into a single value is a great way to compare one panel with another, but having a separate bools for each button also makes it easier to handle the updating of individual buttons when clicked.