Forum rules - please read before posting.

Protect Variables from hacks.

I'm building for android and using global variables for Gems and Energy in my game. There is an application for Android called Lucky Patcher which can be used on running games to patch at runtime and modify variables. Gems are a premium in currency my game and knowing that players can change this Variable easily is literally breaking the value of my game completely. I'm not a programmer so please let me know how can I protect my variables from this?

Comments

• This may be more of a general Unity question, and I'm not aware of how "Lucky Patcher" works. Is it able to modify variables at the time an app is running? Or only modify save-game file values?

• It's able to modify variables at the time an app is running.

• edited June 2023

You could consider the use of encryption and have your "Gems" variable be an encrypted string based off an integer value.

There's many techniques to do so, so you'd need to look for one that works for you - but essentially you could try:

1. Use a script's private variable to store the true (Integer) value
    2. Update your game's logic to read this variable instead of the Global Variable
    3. Using a String variable instead of an Integer
    4. When saving, use encryption to set the Global String Variable from this Integer
    5. When loading, use decryption to convert it back to an Integer

With this technique, the encryption steps (#3-#5) would only be necessary to get saving working. Steps #1-2 would need to be done first, however, and would be tricky since you'd only be able to access the Integer value through script - not through AC's Actions.

How is your "Gems" variable currently referenced by your project?