Forum rules - please read before posting.

Fixed aspect ratio with texture replacing black bars

edited July 2020 in Technical Q&A

Hi there,

I am making a 2D game. In order to avoid stretched artwork (and because the nature of the artwork doesn't allow for any of it to be cropped) I need my game to use a fixed aspect ratio. Happy for it to scale up and down, so long as the ratio doesn't change.

This is very trivial to do using the 'force aspect ratio' setting. However, this results in any unused space being filled in with solid black.

What I would instead like is for the background pattern that already surrounds the play area (and on which the UI elements sit) to be extended into the unused parts of the screen, so that the entire game window is part of the game. Imagine my background is some nice flock wallpaper and the game is in a picture frame; I would like the entire screen to be filled with the patterned wallpaper, with no obvious joins, rather than ending in black bars.

I have done a fair amount of research, but have not yet found anything that leads me to a good solution, though possibly that's because I'm not quite sure what I'm looking for. I found the AspectRatioEnforcer plugin, but this looks like it doesn't solve this bit of the problem (and, perhaps, isn't needed at all).

My feeling is that what I need to do is to not enforce aspect ratio on the game, but instead set up a second camera that fills the whole screen space with pattern, with a hole punched out for the game area which is dynamically sized to a best-fit 16:9 for the system it is running on. However, I'm kind of pulling that idea out of thin air, and I don't really know where to start in terms of implementing it.

Does anyone have any ideas about how to do this?