Forum rules - please read before posting.

Unity UI inventory: hotspots labels misplaced

Hello all,
I recently refactored my inventory from AC to Unity UI following this guide. Everything works great, except for one thing.

My "hotspot" label is configured to appear on top of each hotspot instead of following the cursor during gameplay. This worked seamlessly in the inventory as well as long as I used the AC version: Video

But as soon as I switched to the Unity UI version, the hotspot label appears in the bottom left corner of the screen while hovering on inventory items: Video

The hotspot is stuck to the lower left corner, but somehow moves around few pixels depending on which inventory item I'm hovering. This made me suspect the issue may be related to the canvas scaler, but I'm not experienced enough to form a proper diagnosis.

This is the configuration of my hotspot menu:

And this is how I set up the inventory prefab, including the canvas scaler. When editing it in a scene the "render camera" is assigned to the main camera:

If there's no other way I could probably disable this hotspot while in the inventory and create a new one that follows the cursor, but if there's a chance to enforce consistency I would take it.

thanks!

Comments

• We should be able to get things working, but I'll need some more details to know the situation more fully.

To help isolate the issue, what is the behaviour like when hovering over Hotspots? Is the Hotspot label still in the corner, or correctly positioned?

If it's correct, then the issue may be down to the ordering of the Menus in the Menu Manager. The order they appear here also determines the order in which Menus are "processed". You'll want to keep your Hotspot menu - whose appearance depends on the Inventory menu - at the bottom of the stack.