Forum rules - please read before posting.

Link behavior of all prefab instances to global variable

Hi,

I have a master light switch in one scene that will turn on/off multiple lights, spread in many scenes. I have a prefab where the lamp is the parent object and the point light is the child object. The point light has "Light Switch" and "Remember Light" components attached. When turning on the master switch, a Global Bool variable "Light" changes to True. I'd like to link this global variable to the Prefab and/or all scene instances of the prefab to turn on/off Emission of the lamp and turn on/off the light of the Point Light.

I've played around with custom events and also with a monobehavior script attached to the prefab of both lamp and point light that checks the AC global variable on Update, but I haven't been able to make it work. Is it possible to link the prefab of the lamp and the point light to the global variable in some way so that all instances in all scenes are turned off/on? Or at least in the current scene and I can put the action list in the "Run when loading scene" in all the other scenes? Will need to figure out how to turn on/off Emission through an Action though.

// Magnus

Comments

• Yes, this is possible using parameters.

What you can do is run an ActionList to update a light's state when the scene begins - either when opened naturally, or from loading a save-file. Because of this, you can remove the Remember Light component.

Start by creating an ActionList asset file, and add a Variable: Check Action to check the state of the global light switch Bool variable. Follow both outputs up with an Object: Send message Action that pass "Turn On" message if True, and "Turn Off" if false (as normal when using the Light Switch component).