Forum rules - please read before posting.

Modifying sprite alpha on Click Hold for a special puzzle/minigame.

edited November 2023 in Technical Q&A

Hello, it's me again with a somewhat complex minigame to figure out and implement,

This puzzle was previously working on a different version of Unity and lifetime of the project, it was achieved by some custom scripts that used Yarn Spinner in a complicated manner... but the programmers that made it are no longer communicating with me, so I am jumping to try and make it work on AC. maybe even trying not to use any custom scripts of old but only AC system stuff, which will be really flexible to me since I am not a coder.

To the puzzle:

Basically at a point in the game you pick up an umbrella Item and, when examined in the Inventory, it opens up a Closeup of it where the player has to use the mouse cursor (Left Click) to clean the inside ashes (just a Sprite on a different Layer) off of it and reveal a small etiquette (Hotspot marked in red circle)

Once you examine the etiquette, the puzzle is completed.

I´m thinking that maybe the_ mouse cursor could be used to modify the Sprite alpha of the ashes sprite stuff to slowly "fade it out" as if you were cleaning it, but how can this be achieved?

Also, how can AC activate the etiquette hotspot only once the player has clean exactly on that area?

Here's an old GIF that serves as a reference for what I need. Although in that GIF the cleaning area is too big for the mouse cursor, I would like it to be smaller as well as lowering the sensitivity of mouse on-hold.

Hope it could be achieved somehow.

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• edited November 2023

It'll still need a custom script as the gameplay is very specific, but it should be fairly straightforward - provided you can forego the fading effect and have it be similar to the GIF.

Essentially, you can use Unity's Sprite Masks feature to remove portions of the ash sprite.