Forum rules - please read before posting.

Weird Highlighting Issue and Object: Change Material Isn't working for me.

I am using adventure creator to create a point and click adventure game for my ADV. Prototyping class, in which we build a game. I am quite familiar with AC but I am an aritst not a programmer. I am running into two main problems and this game is due by thrusday 3/19/15 so a quick response would be greatly appreciated.

When I mouse over a hotspot, a highlight on the hotspot's object appears. This is great and this is what I want. However, it is also highlighting other objects not related to the hotspot that I mouse over. I turned off the highlight script on the problem hotspot's object. However I'm still getting random objects highlighted when I interact with said hotspot. Once again the objects that are highlighting have nothing to do with the hotspot moused over or interacted with. Some of the objects affected by this have the highlight script and some dont. Some have regular diffuse materials and some have transparent cutout materials. I've tried to turn down the hotspot detection by the cursor and I'm still getting random highlighted objects. I do not have hotspot auto detect on the character because I am using mouse only not touch controls.

I am trying to use a Global Int to keep track of how many clicks are on my mushroom's hotspot and react accordingly based of the Int value. For instance, when clicked on it once, it changes the value to 1 in which it will do a check and if the value is at 1 "Object: Change Material" I know the Global variable works because I have it performing other things like playing animations and such. I have plugged in the mesh renderer as well as the material to change to and I get no change. I see there is a "material index" which has a value I can change. I do not know what this value's function serves but I changed the value anyway to see if affected chaning the material. Still nothing.