Forum rules - please read before posting.

OnStart dialogue issue

Hello, AdventureCreator community!

I'm new to both Unity and AdvCreator, but so far I'm finding both very
useful and powerful tools. I come from Adventure Game Studio and
Visionaire, but I switched to Adventure Creator because the potential is far superior.

I did the tutorial 2d adventure (the one with the guy and the bird) and
I'm working now on a test adventure to learn stuff. I wanted the
character dialogues to display in a LucasArts style, so I set everything
like the tutorial tells you to. Once the game is running, dialogues are
displayed properly above each character, but it doesn't work at the
OnStart cutscene. For some reason, dialogues that are displayed in the
OnStart cutscene are displayed at the center of the screen. They
vertically depending on the position of the character speaking, but they
don't move horizontally.

Do you guys know why this is happening?

Thank you very much,

Àlex

Comments

• Hello Alex, welcome to the community!

Do these speech lines play literally as soon as the scene begins, or is there a brief delay?  If there's no delay, try inserting one beforehand with an Engine: Wait Action.  If that fixes the issue, it may be that there's a bug that needs to be fixed.

Otherwise, check that your character's sprite is at (0,0,0) position (it should be a child object, not the root GameObject).  If it's not at (0,0,0), then the character will not appear to be where they actually are.
  • Hi Chris! Thanks for your response. I did start the cutscene with an Engine: wait action, yes. I'll check the character sprite position when I get home from work, sure! The weird thing though is that once the cutscene is over, the dialogues appear properly.

Thank you Chris!