Forum rules - please read before posting.

Direct Control Hotspot/Interaction Issues

Hi,

I'm new to Adventure Creator and having great fun with it. I've hit a few issues when
starting to use Hotspots. My game is direct control, using the
keyboard/controller (no mouse). I've played around with it for a few
days with no success so thought I'd post here. Apologies in advance
if I've made simple glaring mistakes. I've created some images using
a demo scene with test assets to show the issues I'm having (see
below). I'm on Unity version 5.3.5 and on Adventure Creator versions 1.53, a snapshot image of my game settings is included at the foot of the post.

Many thanks in advance,

Alex

1) Number of interaction
icons appearing

Irrespective of the number of interactions I specify on a Hotspot, I always get three icons appearing.

2) Interactions
automatically triggering on entering Hotspot volume

On entering the hotspot volume the interaction will frequently trigger automatically, with no input from the player. In the example below the dialogue line plays automatically on entering the hotspot volume.

3) No green interaction
icon highlight when cycling interaction options

I have set it up to cycle through the interaction menu on the keyboard, this is working and I can pick my interaction of choice. However, I have no visual feedback, the green icon highlight is not appearing, as it does in the demos when using mouse. The green highlight still seems to be specified in the interaction menu settings, see below.

Here is a snapshot of my game settings:

Comments

• Welcome to the community @Plank, and thank you for the in-depth details of your issues!  Though I apologise you're having some trouble this early on.

1) In order for the Interaction elements in your Menu to be properly synchronised with the Hotspot, the Menu's Appear type must be set to On Interaction.  This is a special case type that precedes the turning on of this Menu with the sychronisation calculations.