Forum rules - please read before posting.

Fake 360 room in 2D game

Hi All, I was wondering if anyone has a better solution to faking being able to walk in a circle around a room.

In the vid you can see i'm using a hit area and teleport to move the player from one side of the room to the other but that means that other hit area's are un-selectable depending on which side you are walking to / from. And you get that point where the player ends up standing still after teleport. It works but it's not seemless and I worry that once hit/area's characters / puzzles etc are added that i'll cuase other awkward things to happen.

I'm by no means a Unity expert so if there's some obvious unity thing i've missed please point it out!!

You can tell which side you're on from the floating book - ignore the hit area names they're just from an earlier scene I duplicated for this test.

THANKS!!

Comments

• Would help if video wasn't set to private, right :D .
    Done
  • Welcome to the community, @DutchyB.

Interesting problem, though not one that's too easily solved - you're right to assume problems when you add other characters and puzzles.

I would start by ensuring that no Hotspot or NPC is large enough that it can be viewed from both the left and right sides of the screen.  Since you can then assume that a Hotspot will only be on-screen at one point, you can then look into teleporting your Hotspots in the same way that you do your Player.

Some custom scripting will definitely be required, though I would think the difficulty would be in the approach, rather than the implementation - since it's probably not going to amount to much more than teleporting things around and offsetting vectors, but when these things are doing are what's key.