Forum rules - please read before posting.

2d vs 2.5d vs 3d adventure from a tech POV

edited April 2014 in Technical Q&A
Hi all, new guy to AC and the forum.

I am currently in the research phase of creating my first adventure. 

What I've been wondering is wether a 2D, 2.5D or a 3D adventure is more manageable from a rookies POV. I guess when starting out a on a project one should consider ones abilities. My 2D drawing skills are pretty solid, as I have been doing backgrounds and concept art for a couple of years now. 
This definitely pulls me towards a classic adventure style like Broken Sword 2. But I haven't been doing very much handdrawn animation, and I had the thought of doing a 2.5D adventure with a MakeHuman character. 

Now a full 3D adventure is crossing my mind as I want to explore the possibilities of Oculus Rift in the future, but I'm worried that a lot of the old school feeling and warmth from the hand drawings will be lost to bad 3d models (not a very skilled 3d artist yet)

What are your feelings and experience with the 3 different D's ? Which do you like better, not only to play, but also working with in AC?

Happy to be on the forum and hoping to post some concepts of my upcoming (test)game soon :)

-Fred

Comments

• I'll leave the floor open to people who actually use Adventure Creator to actually create adventures ;), but I will say that the workflows are designed to be as similar as they can be, and generally share the same systems.  Transferring from one to the other isn't so drastic as you might imagine.
  • Hey Fred,