Forum rules - please read before posting.

Trying to create a "reorder the words" correctly functionality

edited November 2017 in Technical Q&A
Hello everyone

I'm new to both Unity and AC, trying to create an educational game.

What will be the best way to go about this:

Some words appear on the screen and need to be reordered so as to make a sentence.

Example :     Australian      I      am .

How I am currently doing it is , I created multiple (in this sentence -three) conversations. If the correct word is selected, the next conversation starts, else the skip option is chosen, that is the same conversation restarts. The sentence starts to form , in the first dialog of the next conversation, everytime the correct word is chosen it gets added (manually) to the first dialog of the next conversation and it is removed from the dialog options. 

Conversation1
Australian
I
am

Conversation2
I
Australian
am

Conversation3
I am
Australian

Play dialogue : I am Australian

Is this a good way to do this or is there a better way?

image of how i am doing it currently

Thanks

Comments

• edited November 2017
    Welcome to the community, @rushk01.

Presumably this would be just one of many such sequences in your game, so you'd want the Actions involved to be as simple as possible, and ideally rely on just one Conversation.

If it's necessary to have the first line of the next Conversation show the "already chosen" words, you'd probably be best off by just re-writing the conversation labels as you go.  This can be done with the Dialogue: Rename option Action.  You can also hide options from view with Dialogue: Toggle option.

I'd say generally this kind of thing would be made much easier by incorporating some simple scripting.  Building sentences like this isn't totally aligned with what Conversations are intended for, so trying to achieve this with AC on its own could well be more trouble than its worth.