Forum rules - please read before posting.

Use inventory with gamepad

I'm new to Adventure Creator, and so far I'm having a lot of fun!

I'd like to control everything with the gamepad. I managed to control a character and the main menu thanks to Rewired/AC support script and AC direct movement / keyboard and controller. I locked and hided the mouse. I'm happy this all works. 

Now I did read here I had to switch to Unity UI to use the inventory with a gamepad, so I followed the tutorial to set up an to AC linked inventory created with Unity UI. With a mouse this works as well. I'd like to know how to control it with a gamepad though.

I'd like to build it so that when I push the Y button on my gamepad, the inventory slides on screen, and I'll be able to choose an item with the control stick and A button. It's ok if the character freezes, but background animations should continue. Then with the Y button the inventory slides off screen again.

I hope to find some tips here that'll get me in the right direction. Basically what I'd like to know can AC do something more for me here or should I really just dive in and create my own scripts for these things?  

Comments

• Welcome to the community, @zinvolspel.

No scripts should be necessary, but that's still an option if you prefer.

To clarify: "AC" menus are still able to handle direct-navigation, but Unity UI has more flexibility in general.  Each of the default Menus provided by the New Game Wizard also have a Unity UI counterpart, which can be activated by changing your default Menu's Source field to Unity Ui Prefab.

In order to directly-navigate a Unity UI-based Menu, however, you must specify which element is first selected when the Menu turns on.  This can be done from the bottom of the Menu's list of properties in the Menu Manager - or by using the Menu: Select element Action.