Forum rules - please read before posting.

2D background and per pixel 3D object occlusion, shader, game like disco elysium

Hi, I'm an Artist who is trying to make a small point-and-click adventure game and wants to showcase more of the art side of things,
can't find anything better than this asset, but I want to achieve some specific visual art style, here is my plan for the visual
1. I will make the whole environment in 3d (Maya/blender) and then render the diffuse, normal, and Z depth.
2. paint over the final render and this will be the texture of a flat 2d plane.
3. need a shader to calculate the depth using the pre-rendered Z depth so that I can use the 3d characters/ moveable objects to occlude from front/back.

But, I'm stuck with the 3rd point, here are a few videos, so that you can understand what exactly I'm looking for

this is a tech demo of pillars of eternity

this is the exact system I'm looking for

I'm trying to create an environment very close to Disco Elysium

a side note- as far as I know the inbuild dialogue system of AC cant replicate the dialogue system of Disco Elysium, like what is in the right, like a book and the choices are also part of it, it would be really awesome if any of you can give me a heads up for the solution here in AC.

back to the topic,

Ive somehow managed to find a solution where I am able to use the depth system, my 3d characters are properly sorted based on z depth, but the shader that I'm using does not support any Normal map, and it also does not react to light, I have Zero knowledge of shader coding, here is the shader code

_Shader "Custom/BackgroundDepthShader"
{
Properties
{
_MainTex("Background", 2D) = "white" {}
_DepthTex("Depth", 2D) = "white" {}
}
SubShader
{
Tags {"Queue" = "Transparent" "IgnoreProjector" = "True" "RenderType" = "Transparent"}
Blend SrcAlpha OneMinusSrcAlpha
ZWrite Off
Cull back

Pass
{
CGPROGRAM

pragma vertex vert

pragma fragment frag

include "UnityCG.cginc"

struct VertexInput
{